tpo 43

Granted, mistakes are inevitable in one's life. Some may thus argue that we should not point out the mistakes of others directly. Probably a type of compensation is to wait until the class or meeting is over, and then talk to the speaker indirectly. However, the priority of a class or a meeting is to acquire new information, and we cannot make wrong one conveyed to listeners. Thus, I contend that we should point out the mistake directly when it happens.

Opposers may regard it as a behavior that violate the etiquette, and try to despise people who dare do this. However, it is clear that covering or even whitewashing others' mistakes, no matter a blunder or a peccadillo, should not be part of proper etiquette. The social circumstance should encourage rather than prevent the brave behavior to point out mistakes. It is the fact that mistakes are not uncommon, that correcting behavior is not a violating to others' personality or doubt on others' capability. Everyone makes mistakes, so it is not a shame.

Moreover, despite the fact that interrupting others presentation leads to the gap between listeners' thoughts, the advantages can outweigh disadvantages. If listeners perceive incorrect information at the first glance, it is usually rather difficult to correct them. So once the speaker makes a mistake, especially a blunder one, we are supposed to point out immediately. Considering the fact that not all the listeners can recognize the mistake, it will assist them to reconsider the knowledge in their head. Instead, if you delay until the ending or remain silent, others will lose the chance to form the authentic concept in their heads, which will deteriorate the outcome of the class or meeting.

By pointing out the mistakes, the process of class or meeting can be facilitated, especially when the speech is logically presented. After the speaker making a mistake, even a minor one, when he plan to refer to it later, he may encounter a contradiction between what he has said and what he is saying. Usually it will take rather long period of time to settle the dilemma, which will obstruct the process of the speech and even make the speaker more embarrassed. Pointing out mistakes immediately can prevent this awkward situation from happening.

Admittedly, it is not an easy nut to crack to interrupt the speech and point out mistakes, especially when the speaker is extinguished. Whereas, considering all the aforementioned benefits, we should be bravery and lift our hands firmly.