Essay topics: TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The facilitation of information circulation makes it much more convenient to get access to up-to-date events around the world. Whereas, most of these are viturally irrelavant to everyday life. thus, it is unwise for us to be preoccupied with the crowding information.

In this day and age, we are, in most cases, supposed to complete some work or learn new ability. instead, if we are indulged in events in the media, we will spare no time to do things related to ourselves. Owing to the current media propaganda methods, no matter how dull the event is, it can be vividly depicted to seize audiences' attention. Once we catch a glimpse of it, we are driven to search for more information related to it and to judge all the celebrities' attitudes towards it. that is indeed a waste of time. In the end, we obtain nothing but meaningless information completedly isolated from our life sphere.

Furthermore, despite the fact that superficially irrelavant events may involve in or even interfere with our life in an implicit way, but the possibility of such involvement and the benefit we may acquire due to our attention is so trivial that they are clearly outweighed by the negative aspects. The major events ranging in the media are mainly commercial propaganda rather than really significant stuff. The heated news are inundated with stars' personal life, or the debates or even conflict between famous celebrities. such news are not informative to us, newsworthy though, thus will not bring us rewarding information. we can dedicate time spent on that to more meaningfui activities to get ourselves promoted.

Granted, the necessity of expanding our horizon should not be neglected. However, we should not achieve this aim by concentrating on the headlines or waiting for eyes-catching news. instead, we should focus on news in tune with our interest, or events that will interfere with the wellbeing of the society. we can focus on the downsided workers, the poor patients, or other minority of the society, but we should not follow the trend in the media without further thoughts.

Consequently, we should not try to know what is happening in the world, no matter whether it is worthwhile to pay attention to. we should try to build up ourselves and select the information beneficial to us in the streams of news and events.