TPO 43Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.•Wait until the class or m

Everyone may be mistaken, and there is nothing in it to be ashamed of. However, in general, people do not like to be corrected for their mistakes. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that it is better to correct the teacher after the class is over. I hold this opinion since interrupting a person and correcting her mistake may confuse her; and trying to correct a mistake immediately may place us in a silly situation.

To begin with, our teachers are real professionals and an attempt to correct them in front of the class may embarrass and confuse them. This is explained by the fact that a person needs to study hard and long in order to become a teacher, and the education teachers receive secures the proper level of their proficiency. Furthermore, our tutors do not commonly expect us to correct their mistakes. For example, my teacher of history at school was one of the most intelligent individuals I have ever met. Once when she was telling /to/ us about the peculiarities of the formation of our state, she wrongly stressed out that initially the territory of our country was equivalent to 29,000 square kilometers. In fact, our territory was larger. After I heard her explanations, I raised my hand and told her about her mistake. She became red and was not able to continue the class. So, the level of proficiency of our teachers makes them unready for criticism.

Additionally, in fact an idea which seems to be erroneous may occur to be correct after thorough consideration. The material that we learn at schools is complex and sometimes it is difficult to understand it immediately. That is why it is better to wait for a while, ask for clarifications, if necessary, and only after that to correct the possible mistake of the teacher. For instance, my classmate was trying to find something to comment on during all our classes. As a result, he often was occurring in fooly situations inasmuch as he was trying to find something wrong in the ideas of all teachers that were initially correct. At the same time, it was obvious for us that teachers are mistaken rarely, but the desire to appear smart was leading our classmate to undesirable situations. So, in order not to seem unclever it is preferable not to hurry in conclusions about the ideas expressed by the teachers.

To sum up briefly, it is not common to correct mistakes of teachers. However, if it takes place, it should be done in a gentle manner and only after fully comprehending the issue under consideration.