TPO 45 independent writing

The society is always comparing the difference on people's behaviors between the past and now. A controversy exists as whether young people are able to make decisions for themselves better than people in the past. As far as I concerned, I totally agree that today teenagers have more ability making decisions independently. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, parents today allow young people to make decision for themselves, that parents in the past didn't. Parents were playing a significant role for younger people in Chinese culture. Moreover, following our parents' suggestions was what we learnt from Confucianism. However, due to the globalization prevailing, Western concept on parenting, which is relatively open-minded, is gradually influencing Chinese people. Therefore, nowadays, parents tend to give children freedom on making decisions for themselves. My own experience as a kid demonstrates evidence of this. I was not a diligent students. I spent lots of my time on painting instead of studying. However, my mom choose to analyze the consequences of not studying and the benefits of painting to let me decide which I wanted to do more. Apparently, it is totally different from the way my grandma raise my mom.

Furthermore, young people today have a bunch of sources to help them make right decisions on their own unlike people in the past. Young people now are easily access to information when they are confused on difficult questions. That is to say, parents are not the only one to ask when young people are searching for answers. For example, Google search are fully open to everyone, our friends and teachers are easy to reach out on Facebook...etc. The more information young people have, the better ability of critical thinking they will have. That is to say, it will assist them to make decisions with multi-aspects. To take myself as an example, I was on a dilemma of which major to choose at the university. My parents are not familiar with what will be taught in the university. As a result, I searched for and contacted the students with majors that I was interested through Facebook, and their experience help me to make decisions of my own future.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that youngsters are better on making decisions than youngsters in the past.