TPO 39 independent writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Many young people have experienced that our careers are being judged and compared by our parents, and it usually leads to a fight that whether it was easier to have a successful job in the past. Personally, I agree that it was easier to identify a secure career before.

First of all, the technologies are advancing rapidly, as the result, every career can change tremendously in a short period of time. A lots of new skills, like programming, data resourcing and utilizing collaboration tools are required for improving competitiveness. For example, my dad was a professor in a university. He taught students as the traditional ways for 30 years. However, just few years to his retirement, he had to learn how to adapt the latest technology into education, such as methods of distant teaching, E-books, online teaching materials…etc. It is difficult to predict how the technologies can change an industry, so the stability and success of a job is hard to foresee.

Secondly, globalization force us to compete with people all over the world which is challenging to workers. In the past, people only need to compete with workers in our nations. However, it is easier for companies to invite outstanding foreigners to work nowadays, and if employment in Taiwan is not efficient, companies can transfer their factories or service points to developing countries. To speak from my personal experience, when I was an intern, my colleague was a German. He has better English skills and he is braver to express his perspective on jobs than Taiwanese students. That is to say, it is very difficult to identify whether we will be outstanding because human resources are exchanging globally.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that to have a successful career in the past had also need to be intelligent and competitive. The personalities of successful people have never changed. Nevertheless, the over-all situation of the working environment makes fewer people can become successful.

To sum up, it was easier to identify what type of career would lead to a secure, successful future because of the technology is improving and globalization are undergoing.