TPO 14 independent writing- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Due to traveling to foreign countries gradually becomes easier and cheaper, it comes into people’s mind firstly when we are planning for our holiday. Data shows that less people choose to traveling in their own country. Nevertheless, in my opinion, traveling in our own country has bunch of benefits. In the ensuing essay, my perspective will be substantiated by underlying reasons.

First of all, we will love our country more through traveling in it. Since 2020, pandemic has severely taken all over the world. Even though Taiwan is relatively safe, the government not allow Taiwanese people to travel oversees. As a result, my friends and I have planned to discover different part of Taiwan during holiday. We went to Kinmen, which is a small island of Taiwan I have never been to. There are full of historical sites which are astonishing, and I was really enjoying to explore the story about the past of Taiwan. My friends and I cherish those ancient buildings that belong to our culture and we become more proud of our country after the trip.

Apart from that, traveling in our own country can boost the economy for ourselves. Most of the Taiwanese people are living and working in the urban area, and our money our mostly spend around the area. However, comparing to other rural parts of Taiwan, the youngsters are moving out, less people are spending their money there. For example, my friend’s grandpa was holding a restaurant in Taitung which is basically selling to tourists. Unfortunately, due to not lots of people went there, the restaurant was forcing to close. In addition to the restaurants, lots of other industries in the rural are facing the same situation. If we can transfer our travel destination to those places, those industries can obtain more possibilities to survive.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that it is more exited to traveling abroad because we can see different people and customs of other countries. Nevertheless, to travel in our own country can not only benefits our own selves. We can not only assist other Taiwanese people’s living, but also through sharing the love of our country, we can let more foreigners love Taiwan, too.

In a nutshell, I maintain the perception that people benefit more from traveling in their own country.