TPO 18 independent writing: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

People are easy to be influenced when their mentalities aren’t fully developed. Researchers are always discovering what make people become who they are. With this in mind, a controversy exists as to whether our friends or teachers influence us more when we are students. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree that friends influence us more through our growing processes than teachers do. In the ensuing essay, my perspective will be substantiated by underlying reasons.

First of all, people who we spend a lot of time being with affect us more, and we stay with our friends longer than with our teachers. My own experience demonstrates this concept. I studied in a boarding school when I was in high school. My classmates were also my roommates, which means we spent almost 24 hours a day together. Within 2 to 3 years, my friends and I became similar with each other on not only the way we speak, but also our how we think. That is to say, our friends, due to we spent so much time together, can affect our point of views and behaviors.

Furthermore, peers pressure influences our behaviors. Students are competing but searching for acceptance among their peers at the same time. If one were acting differently, one would feel left out by the group, then pressure increases. To take myself for an example. When I was in eighth grade, I had to study for my senior high school entry exam. I was at difficulty controlling my own time because I don’t know how to say no to my friends when they all wanted to go somewhere and invited me together. Then, I had to stay up late during the night studying, even though my teachers told us that it is unhealthy and have negative effect to our study.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that one’s peers influence our behavior than one’s teachers do.