TPO 45- independent writing taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use s

Making decision has been a challenging practice over the time, especially for youth. In my opinion, todays people are less reliant on their parents to make their lives decisions. I feel this way for two main reason which I will explore in the following passage.

To begin with, extension of modern technologies has made youth more self-sufficient. In favor of now technologies such as TV, Internet and social media, most of people are able to access to a variety of information easily. As a result, contemporary people have a powerful source of data to help them make their decision more convenient. For example, as my father says when he was young, he was influenced by his father's job to continue his career after him. He goes that way because his father was his only source of information for him. On the other hand, when I supposed to pick my future career, I begun to surf the net. I wasn’t relied on my father, because I could obtain a lot of valuable information through the net which had not been available in my father's time. This shows how evolution of modern technologies has made youth autonomous.

Secondly, the knowledge of parents is limited than before. In the past, there were some limited fields of knowledge, hence parents could help their children in that circumstances. In contrast, nowadays, the knowledge has extended, and lots of new fields of expertise and modern problems has developed which our parents aren't even familiar with them. My own experience is compelling evidence of this concept. When I entered my graduate university, I asked my father to help me find best field as my major. While he had studied 30 years ago, he couldn't deliver some valuable information to me. He even didn't know some just-coming field of study. I found his opinions old-fashion and, I referred to a council company. There I realized that old knowledges such as manufacturing which was my father interest would not be suitable for me in the future.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern people are less dependent on their parent that the past because they have access to widespread information which were not available in those days and because todays, parents are not familiar with modern technologies and can't properly guide their children.