TPO 47 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today all around the world, some interesting incidents happen every day. In my opinion, it is not essential for us to be aware of all this news. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will precisely explore in the following passage.

To begin with, there is a lot of information in the world, and pursuing all of them wastes our time. Nowadays, due to the expansion of modern technologies such as TV, the Internet, etc., people are able to get informed of all the happening around the world. This practice, however, requires infinite time. My own experience demonstrates this concept. Five years ago, when the telegram company just established, I got addicted to it. I started my morning by checking Telegram to the end of the day. Although most of the news which I followed during the day was useless to me, I could not quit that habit. After a while, I realized I was spending most of my time on social media, but it was too late. Because I was taking the main part of my time surfing in cyberspace, I failed one of my courses. As you see, I would not fail that class, if I had spent my time on a study my assignments instead of wasting my time on social media.

Secondly, following all the news is harmful to our mental and physical health. As the main source of news is social media, people mostly check their phones, TVs, and laptops. Recent studies have shown that using this equipment more than two hours a day, not only causes some vision irritations but also, brings about some psychosocial disease. My story from one of my friends is compelling evidence of this claim. four years ago, when I arrived dormitory, I met my first college friend, and over time, I have grown fond of him. As I observed he spent most of his time behind his laptop, I suggested him to give his eyes a bit rest. He, however, ignored my benevolent request. Just after four months, he fell ill with a vision irritation, and when he referred to the doctor, the doctor told him he cannot use his laptop without glasses anymore. That was painful to him because unless he used glasses, he would have taken head pain.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we don't need to follow all the news around the world because not only it would take all of our time, and we don’t have any time for other our responsibilities, but also it causes some painful disease.