TPO 45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a great debate about how dependent are the teenagers on their parents to make a decision for them nowadays. It is said that many young people cons always consider their parent's decision. But is this always true? Many people wonder whether teenagers become more independent as society modernize and progress. In my opinion, they are eager to assume their future on their own decision rather than their parents. I believe that young people in modern society do not that much attention to what their parents want. For me, although there are many cases that teenagers are dependent on their parents, most of them are able to make a decision on their own. In this essay, I will address reasons to support my opinion.

First of all, one should take into account this significant fact that people today have more freedom on career and marriage decisions. Parents are not only more open-minded But also more respectful about what their children want than past. As for me, my parents get married not because they loved each other, they do this to obey what their parents ask them to do. but the situation changes as generation change. My sister and I have that right to choose the person to marry.

In approaching this issue, apart from the fact mentioned above, one should regard another subtle point that people are struggling with some decision, they return to their friends. To demonstrate, researcher established an experimental program to estimate that how many people ask their friends to decide in many situations. The results are surprising: over 60 percent of them ask their friends and only 15 percent asks their parents. As a matter of fact, friends provide fresh suggestion beside they can understand us better than our parents because they are from the more similar background than our parents.

last but also not least, we cannot ignore many groups of young people who are dependent on their parents. We cannot deny that many numbers of people rely on their parents in many aspects of their lives. For example, there are many students in my university who come from the rich and privileged family that even don't know why they are studying this course, they just do what their parents ask them.

Although some people are more dependent on their parents, on the great scale, especially compared to the past, young people have more freedom to make a decision. moreover, they are more willing to explore the future with the help of their friends.