TPO 45

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Making decision is an important part of our life from child hood, and It is advisable to consult with an appropriate person. Some people claim that parents'role was not more noticeable as guider in the past in compare with the present time, but I do not think so. I feel this way for 3 main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, having limit knowledge among younger persons was common in the past. For example, my father grew in a town and did not access to school. As a result, it was clear that he relied on his parents experiences for choosing among his complicated situations. In fact, many people were in conditions similar to my father's one. The worse thing was that in some times, not only did parents cause critical problems for their unaware children such as their marriage, jobs, stall of life, and etc., but they also forced them to obey them without any question.

The second cause may referred to the development of technology these days. Having up-date sources of information make it possible for us to obtain a good deal of awareness by clicking on our computer's keyboard only in a few seconds. By having enough knowledge, we reach to self-confidence for selecting suitable conditions, and less dependence to our mothers and fathers. For instance, when I want to cook something new, I easily search through internet and make delicious cakes and foods. On the contrary, my mother asks me about some tasted foods' recipe.

Last, appearing various field of sciences in addition to the society' need to being professional in a certain matter, bring us the opportunities for consulting with expert persons. I will exemplify my point with a true story about something that happened to me. Last year, when I forced to choose between chemistry and biochemistry as my major in the university, I talked with my professors and finally preferred to continue my education in later one. Surely, my parents could not conduct me as well as my academic consult.

In all, what drives someone to think that parents have pale part in children' making decision process nowadays, may fall in to 3 main categories including low level of parents' knowledge, our fast developing technology, and need to getting information from expert ones in each fields.