TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Having friends was and is always an important aspect of life as well as a source of happiness and support.

in my opinion, the capability of maintaining friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important and efficient to get satisfied and happy than the ability to make new friends. And I choose my opinion based mainly on my personal experiences.

First, a friend is someone who you can trust during tough time and you need time to be able to trust a person so you can share your secrets and life situations, because of that , i trust old friends more than new people as I already built my trust during the so many years of friendship. Sometimes, I also need to hear other opinions prior of taking some decisions and I usually like to hear what my old friends think as they are aware of my family situation as well as my personality due to time we spent together. As an example, when I was in college I hesitated to accept a good job instead of finishing college and then look for a job and I remember taking the advice of my good friend who encouraged me to continue my college and wait, i took her advice and refused the job offer and finished school and as a result, i was able to get a better job with a college degree.

Second, those who grew up with you would know you better , know what makes you happy and what makes you upset and you would feel more comfortable surrounded by them so spending your free time together will be more enjoyable.

To illustrate, I always enjoy my vacation with my old friends, we always have something in common.

And now that we all have kids, our kids can have so much fun playing together.

To sum up, having friends is an essential part in social life, and keeping your old friends will enhance your social and emotional life aspects and will always keep you the support you need in this tough world.