TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Good friendship, in literary terms, is one of the most difficult possessions an individual may have. There are tons of considerations and commitments to be employed in ensuring a sustainable friendship. While some group of people may hold the view that making new friends is more important than maintaining our small old folks, I, on the other hand, strongly believe that keeping old friends are more invaluable due to the various reasons which I will elaborate here below.

The first obvious point is that old friendships builds trust and reliability. With the passage of time, people get along to know themselves and interact to discover their behaviors, interests and principles. This gains trust and confidence among these group of people. My personal experience will shed more light this idea. Over the four years of my college, I had a small of group of friends that we studied together, attended school social activities and exchanged various things in common. We grew to know, appreciate,encourage and love each other. This relationship transformed to a genuine and strong relationship that holds up to this very moment. Accordingly, this invariably built trust and reliability because of the intimate relationship we developed. In contrary, having a huge of army of friends leaves us with no genuine friend as we do not concentrate to build a long lasting memorable friendship.

In addition, Old friends are more like a family. Certainly, old friends can be our advocates in times of need. Based on the long term relationship, they carry our burdens just like theirs. I remember vividly when my father was at the point of death in the hospital which required a huge some of money. I was despondent and thought all through on how to raise such significant amount of money. Whereas, I had a new friend who was highly influential, I knew it was improbable to approach and to request for such considerable amount of cash. This is as a result of no strong bond between us. Finally, I resorted to to my old time folk who delivered me from the great troubles.

To wrap up, it's irrefutable to argue that maintaining and preserving old friends is not more important than making new friends as it builds trust,genuine love and long lasting wholesome relationships.