TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Connections define who we are. People tend to struggle with who and how long to befriend someone. However, it depends on people's intentions in building these relationships. Even though some people may be attached to retain old friends, they should consider making new friends. The ability to make new friends easily brings about diversity and new experience, all of them resulting in fascinating happiness.

Firstly, making new friends introduces diversity into people's life happiness. For growth in life, people need to have different and new individuals around them. When individuals connect with new friends easily, they adapt quickly to the new environment. For instance, US universities have increased the number of internationals on their campuses for an increase in diversity. However, if it was not for its benefits, they would not have introduced such a policy. In these schools, students come as strangers but with a will of making of new friends, they are exposed to diverse cultures and ideas which give them a glimpse of the world's reality. As a result, they are amazed by how little they know the rest of the world which intriguers their happiness and enthusiasm. This shows that introducing new friends in people's lives brings more contentment.

In addition, new friendships equip people with new experiences. As people gain new friends, they are exposed to new perspectives on life and other people's point of views. For these experiences, they manage to adapt to different surroundings. For example, when I joined a new high school, I was entitled to adapt to the new place. However, it would have been enormously hard if I wanted to keep my old friends and avoid making new ones. Letting myself, embrace new colleagues' perceptions gained me a perfect adaption that would be a guide in my last year. Had it not been for my happiness, I would not have made new friends. It is pretty clear that the new friendship comes with new experience and skills.

In conclusion, making new friends easily introduces diversity and enhances new experiences sharing. It might be hard to make new friends but as the challenges increase so are their advantages and lessons. People should risk for broad and advantageous connections.