TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

There is no shortage of debates whether it is better to have some friends in your life for having entertainments with them, solving your problems and leaning on them in hard situations. In this regard, Some individuals hold the view that It is of vital importance to make many new friends in different periods of their life. However, there are other opinions that It is essential to maintain friendships with a small number of people for a long time. I am personally inclined to believe that the former approach pales in comparison to the latter. In following paragraphs some cogent reason has been elaborated in order to elucidate some obscure points in this framework.

The first pivotal reason which exhorted me to opt this point of view is that it is crystal clear long time friendships makes them stronger. Your close friends know your identity because in a variety of situation they were beside you. On the grounds that they are familiar whit your type, they know how to make you happy. By way of illustration, I have a couple of friends which we have been in a relationship since our childhood. During our nurturing, we went to the same school. So, we have been along with each other and have made a close friendship. They knew that I do love adventurous activities. For the gift of my twenty-year-old birthday, they gifted me a ticket for a trip to a wonderful place, Disneyland! It was the most splendid gift I ever had. If they did not know my characteristic, they could not make me so happy. This example clarifies how your close friend can bring happiness to your life even in a small number.

The other equally compelling reason in corroborating my stance is that new friend that you faced them in your university or work are temporary and never know you properly. In my idea, You can rely on them because they might have completely different behavior from you. It is worth mentioning that their behavior in some ways can even hurt you. My friend's experience drives the concept home. Last year, my friend, Sarah, was a newcomer to a big company. As she is a sociable type, she made friends with one of her colleagues. They had some dates after the work. After a while, she recognized that the other colleagues knew every secret that she had said to her friend. So, she found that her friend makes this friendship with everyone and said everybody's secret to others. "Did I rely on my old friends and said them my secret instead of new one, I would not hurt like that", Sarah remarked.

By perusing the above paragraphs, one can infer although some people like making friends easily, it is indispensable to have some old close friends even in a small group. for the sake of brevity, a couple of points are worth reiterating; first; your old friend understand you; secondly, the new friends are not reliable. So, as the writer's advice, I urge people to protect their old friends and try hard to maintain them.