TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

Throughout education in university, students take different courses, some of which are related to their major and some of which are not. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether students, no matter what field they're studying, should take history courses. I vehemently cling to the notion that students should be obliged to study history no matter what their interest is. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

First and foremost, history repeats itself, and if we don't study our past, we're condemned to repeat it. Every individual in society has an impact on the country's history and path. Therefore, it's vital for every person, no matter what their profession is, to study history and learn from their ancestor's mistakes. Moreover, studying history will provide students with highly-developed cognitive skills and critical thinking. They can learn about the deleterious repercussions of each ideology and perspective. As a result, they can identify these ways of thinking in their society and prevent its propaganda. An example can drive this notion home. For instance, we all know that fascism and racism led to genocide and an incredible number of innocent people died as a result of these ideologies. By studying history, youth can detect if a politician is taking the same path and prevent him in the first place.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that by studying history, youngsters can preserve their cultural heritage. It's crystal clear that culture is one of the most important aspects of each country, and the diversity of cultures around the globe is valuable, and every individual should be proud of their culture and try their best to save it. By reading history, students get a chance to know more about their culture, rituals, and ceremonies. As a result, they would be proud of themselves and their culture and try to stop the penetration of other cultures. For example, long ago, people in my country used to celebrate the advent of spring with social gatherings, dancing, and giving gifts to each other. Unfortunately, the contemporary generations are not interested in this tradition, and they think it doesn't belong to the modern era and should be annihilated. If students knew more about this tradition and its history and benefits, they wouldn't though this way.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that students should read history, on the ground that this would enable them to make better political decisions, as well as they get to know more about their culture.