TPO 51 Writing IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

On the whole, it is of little doubt, if any, that role of media such as television is an issue of great importance and consideration. Watching movies can affect both our quality of life and the level of performance in daily tasks. Consequently, the relation between television and the young generation has priority. In this regard, some people wonder movies and television have negative effects on youth more than positive impacts. I definitely disagree with the statement and believe the positive effects of TV are more obvious. In the ensuing lines, I will provide two reasons for the collaboration with this thesis.

The first idea worthy of consideration is that watching movies and television is fun. In the modern era, young people can get away from hustle and bustle of a hectic life by enjoying time watching TV. At the end of the day, relaxing in front of a TV and getting involved with characters of movies or shows is really a wonderful way to forget the problems and enjoy the time. Taking Friends series as an example, imagine a young man who watches this show every night. He will become interested in the plotline and what happens to the characters including Joey. So he wishes for walking in Joey's shoes and forgets about difficulties like being single and rejected by ladies daily as well as having no job. This activity provides enjoyment for him and he can have so much pleasure. This clearly indicates that watching television’s positive effects is really influential.

The second noticeable reason is that watching movies and television can be used as a means of learning new things. Some movie companies, also assign a significant budget for producing documentary especially for young people as they are a massive group of audiences. In this way, watching new information, comprise of sound and images, can be more effective even more than reading texts. On the other hand, blocking TV and movies can eliminate an efficient way of learning in one's life. For instance, as far as I remember since I was in high school, my favorite channel was National Geography. When I watched those documentaries about stars, wild animals, the ocean and other interesting subjects, I could go through it a whole day long. Sometimes I even took notes from the documentary to use them as worthy information for my projects and assignments. After all these years, not only I do not stop watching this channel but also suggest my family members and friends watch it. This shows that television has a lot of benefits.

By and large, based on the aforementioned arguments, the positive effects of television on young people are more than its negative effects due to fun time watching them and how learning they can be. I think people should spend more time watching it.