TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Funding is vitally important in the development of any industry. Governments should spend their money wisely. While both arts and athletics need financial support, in the case of Taiwan, I believe that it is more important to fund athletics.

To begin with, sports have a significant impact on Taiwan's society. There are more people p following sports events rather than art events. This can be revealed from discussions on social media. For example, when Olympics games are happening, there is news every day, even though not many people partake in sports in daily lives, the popularity of sports is unquestionable. In contrast, art events are relatively esoteric. Although there are also big art events held in Taiwan, they have never gained so much attention. If the government spend more money in support of athletics, a highly motivated society can be expected.

Second, currently, sports in Taiwan are not well-sponsored by the government. The fund used on our athletics are not only insufficient for training but also unable to support their living expenses. This makes athletics often stay in the fear of losing. In fact, with lack of support, there is a growing trend that top athletics leave the country and even change their nationality to look for sponsors, leading to huge loss in the strength of national teams. Considering the situation of the sports industry here in Taiwan, all it needs is money from the government.

As illustrated above, sports are closer related to society than arts, and sports industry in Taiwan are seriously underfunded. I, therefore, disagree with the idea that the government spends money on arts than athletics.