A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually.

It is not a simple task to help high school teachers to improve their teaching. Although it is possible to offer online material about ways to teach effectively for teachers to study individually, I would prefer another plan. I am more inclined to pick a small group of teachers to attend a class led by an expert and then send them back to school to teach other teachers. This is due to the completeness and higher efficiency in enhancing teaching skills.

To begin with, teachers are unable to acquire some important teaching strategies solely from online materials. Many things are harder than they look. For example, if teachers attend a class led by an expert, they will feel more engaged in how to teach. Moreover, if teachers have questions on materials, they may receive more explanation from experts. Because this small group of teachers is excellent in school, they are able to find out potential problems that are not mentioned in the expert's materials. By doing so, when they go back to school and teach other teachers, they will be more inclusive on the ways to teach.

Additionally, the first plan in the question is much more efficient than online materials. Although there are advantages like time flexibility in using online materials, it is practically an ineffective way of learning, especially in learning how to teach. This results from a lack of communication between instructor and learner in online material. For example, sometimes when a lecturer observed that some concepts are not understood by most of the people, he slows down to explain more on the concepts. However, online materials are recorded and fixed. With the limitation of online materials, the second plan is not as efficient as the first plan.

Considering from inclusiveness and effectiveness, the first plan which makes a small group of outstanding teachers to learn from an expert first is way better the second plan.