TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From the very first day of emergence of modernity, people are paying more attention to arts and sports. Some people are to the opinion that, athletics are more popular among people and supporting them should be one of the great concerns of the government. However, others oppose this claim and believe that government's support for art is more crucial. I personally agree with the latter idea. I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons in the following paragraphs.

The reason crossing the mind at first glance is that sports don't require much support from the government in comparison to art. There are quite a lot of private companies and individuals who are inclined to support athletics and due to the fact that a great amount of budget is needed for supporting it, governments cannot provide enough money for this purpose. On the contrary, arts are not getting enough attention from private companies. Hence, the government should afford their expenses and provide them with a considerable budget. To illustrate, in my country, football teams are all getting supported by big, rich companies that are self-governed and they are not in the need of government's budget. However, most artists are complaining about the lack of money they need to strive for their artistic goals.

The second reason which is worth some words is that arts can positively affect people's lives and mental health. It goes without saying that these days, many people are suffering from mental diseases. From the psychologists' viewpoint, art is the best cure for most of these diseases. To illustrate, a study conducted in my country reveals that, artistic activities like playing a musical instrument, painting, or even listening to music or attending an art exhibition, functions certain parts of the brain that are normally deactivated. When these sections of the brain get activated, they release some hormones which are responsible for the creation of feelings like happiness.

The last but not least is that arts and culture of a country are not separable and it goes without saying that each country should respect its culture and spread it among its people. Hence, one field that they should pay attention to, is of course arts. For instance, imagine what could have happened to Italy with such a great history in arts, if it was not for government's efforts to save and serve its culture by taking care of its architecture.

By considering all the aforementioned reasons, supporting the arts is vital for maintaining the societies' mental health and without the government's efforts, there are no guarantees that the arts will improve. I firmly suggest governments to allocate a significant amount of their budget to support the arts in their countries.