Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Parents have always played an important role in youngster's lives. Most parents interfere in the process of decision making of their childeren. Although some believe that childeren have always depended on their parents while making decisions, I believe that today young people are more independent and able to make decisions on their own. I will elaborate on my point of view through the following paragraphs.

to begin with, media has a significant influence on young people's living methods. Most people today use Instagram, Facebook, and other similar social media. They easily get affected by other's lives. When they see that some of their peers are quite independent and are responsible for their own lives or even live alone they want to do the same even unconsciously. To illustrate, I have a friend who lives in Canada. I see her Instagram posts that she is traveling alone all the time and barely meet her parents and she is responsible for her own decisions. I used to be dependent too much on my parents. They always observed my activities and interfered in my decisions. However after seeing my friend's way of life I couldn't stand my parents advises anymore. It is completely observable that these days young people prefer to be the only one responsible for their decisions.

In addition to the influence of media, the short amount of time young people spend with family is also an important reason which made them independent decision makers. These days young people spend most of their time at schools, universities or with their friends out of the home. Therefore, it is impossible for them to be dependent on their parents. They have accepted their individual role in society and the fact that there are a lot of situations that they can't ask their parents for advice. For example, I barely meet my parents for 5 or 6 hours a week. I spend most of my time at university or with my friends and I have turned in to an independent person. This is an important reason why youngsters are better decision makers today.

in summation, by considering the effects of media and the fact that young people are too busy to spend so much time with family, it is easy to say that they are turning in to independent decision makers. Even if it is against what they want, they are experiencing various situations that they should decide all on their own.