TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people are for the opinion that, finding a secure job which ensures you of a successful future is easier today compared to the past. However, I believe that finding a job which guarantees the mentioned features is harder these days. There are two main reasons for this claim, which I will elaborate on through the ensuing paragraphs.

Firstly, various job opportunities make the process of a job choosing extremely difficult. This rule can be applied to different decision-making processes not only while finding a job. There are thousands of companies and institutes today which you can occupy a job position there. Hence, identifying the job that best matches your criteria can be difficult. To illustrate, imagine that you need to buy a dress. It is way more difficult to find a dress in a big store rather than choosing one between a few choices. It is approximately the same when it comes to finding a job. For instance, there were few job positions available in the past; Farming, teaching and some more. Therefore, people could simply identify which job can bring success to their lives. Nevertheless, there are plenty of jobs today that we have not even heard about. This clearly makes it hard to find an appropriate job.

Secondly, the appearance of private companies and individuals who run businesses adversely affect the process of job finding. If someone wants to find a job, they can easily obtain information about well-known companies or the ones who are administrated by the government. They have clear rules that you can see whether they match your expectations. However, today there are various job opportunities that are controlled by private companies. You may find the conditions of the job rational at first and accept the position, but they may change the rules and terms after a while. For instance, my father took a job in one of these private companies. During the first year, he was completely satisfied with his job and the wage. Yet, the next year all the previous rules changed and he had to spend more hours in the company with the same salary as before. He has also experienced having a secure job in a well-known company which was dependent on the government and he used to be more satisfied and I can remember how successful he was at that job.

In summation, by considering the creation of new job positions and private companies it can easily result that identifying a satisfactory job which makes you feel secure and successful, is harder than before. Consequently, to find a job which matches your criteria it is beneficial to spend more time looking for job positions.