TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

With the continuous development of society, arts and athletics have been playing two significant roles in residents' daily life. When it comes to whether the government should spend more money on arts or sports, some individuals support the view of spending more money on arts. As far as I am concerned, I think athletics deserve more government funding than arts. To substantiate my point, two reasons are being explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, distributing more funds to physical exercises such as state-sponsored Olympic teams or games is benefit for the economic developments and international reputation of the country. To be more specific, more countries are now willing to acquire the right to hold the Olympic Games which are held every four years and include many different kinds of fascinating competition items. In order to hold the Olympic Games successfully, the government of state has to invest a lot to build the stadiums, train the coaches as well as advertise their advantages to hold the contests. After a large deal of preparation and publicity, numerous wonderful sport events would attract significant amount of tourists to come to watch those excellent competitions or just take a trip in Olympic cities. Under this circumstance, a host of visitors would pay for the tickets to watch the matches, buy some local souvenirs and travel to renowned places in the country so that they would increase the local economic benefits greater than limited amount of money to athletics. On the other hand, if the state could host an unparalleled game combined with distinctive elements, their international popularity and influence would get improved because the Olympic Games brought a profound impression to audiences all over the world. Therefore, spending more money to support of athletics not only bring economic interests of entire state but also enhance their international influence.

What is more, allocating more funds to the constructions of sports would help strengthen the physical fitness of the whole nation. If the governments disburse a lot of expenditures to build new stadiums and facilities which are pretty convenient for citizens to use, both adults and children are willing to join these activities to exercise their bodies. By regularly using these government-built fitness machines, either the body or the spirit of the people have got much relaxation from daily pressures of the occupation or study. In this case, individuals would acquire a better mental state to commit to their careers so that they would achieve a great deal of accomplishments and contribute more to the progress of the community eventually. Hence, the governments should spend more money on physical exercises, both for the health of the residents and the development of the state.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, we may reach the conclusion that the governments are supposed to spend more money to support athletics because it could drive economic growth to some extent and enhance people's physical fitness, after all,what is good for mankind is eternal.