TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People often hold different views on whether the government should spend more money in support of the arts than sports. Based on personal experience of my life, I contend that the government should support athletics since the government cares about its reputation, the citizen's health and employment rate.

First of all, reputation is always what the government pursuing and spending more money on sports can make it easier for athletics to win gold medals in global competitions. For example, the Taiwan government supports training equipment and provides stipends for athletes, so our national athletes can spend all of their time preparing for the competition. As a consequence, our athletes are well prepared and can win gold medals in Olympics games easily. The more medals we won in the Olympics games the more citizens will think our government is really good. On the other hand, if the government subsidizes arts more, people will want to see some special achievement. While there is no global competition for art, so people might think the government is wasting money, which is detrimental to the government's reputation.

Secondly, it is important for the citizen to get healthy, and spending more money on sports will make people healthy. Take Zui-In Dai, the world's top badminton player and the idol for example. People play badminton instead of playing video games at home. People exercise more in order to get stronger and healthier like their role models. On the contrary, if people view the painter as their idol, they might spend all day sitting on the chair to hone their painting skills without getting up and doing exericse. The more people sit still without moving, the more likely they will get some waist diseases and cardiovascular diseases.

Last but not least, decreasing the unemployment rate is always the government's goal, and spending more on sports can make the industry more suitable for people to work in. In order to support an athlete, there should be a professional nutritionist to design healthy recipes, a well-trained therapist to soothe athlete's body pain, and an experienced coach to teach the skills. Meanwhile, broadcasting sports can can also provide job vacancy for TV anchor and critics.That is to say, there are more job chances for people to work when government decide to spend more their budget on sporting.

In conclusion, I disagree that the government should spend more money in supporting arts. The government cares about reputation, people's health and employment rate, and spend more money in sports can earn more prestigious medals, make people willing to train their body, and provide more job vacancy.