TPO 63 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don t know for example by giving clothing and food to people who need them than they were in the past Use specific reasons and examples to su

The changing of the social ideology and public opinion is incessantly under the effect of ways of production and the structure of the population. Some discussions widely believe that relations between strangers in modern society are significantly differentiated, and enlarging gaps makes us less enthusiastic about helping people we do not know. However, I am hard to agree that people in modern society have become not as interested in helping strangers as the people in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

To begin with, I believe that people in modern society have developed some more effective ways of helping people facing difficulties. Most developed societies with complete welfare systems have established their charity organisations and relief facilities to gather surplus resources from the public and redistribute them to the people living in shortness of materials. My personal experiences is a compelling illustration of this. As a volunteer, I joined a food bank program and paid for my spare time to collect extra vegetables or pre-made instant food from local families and transport them to a food bank located in a less enriched community. The food is not directly donated to the beggars or homeless people who are primarily under help, but they can get into the food bank and take whatever they want as free as anyone else. The people who enjoy the benefits from the food bank all agree that gathering all surplus into redistribution is a much more efficient way than direct donations.

Furthermore, more abundant materials and surpluses produced by the industrialised society have grown our generosity to donate what we have. The industrialised producing structure has explosively enriched our material life, and people who live in most developed regions are less struggle in surviving. Therefore, for the people who are still unable to sustain ordinary life, it became possible to obtain from the groups willing to pay their extra resources. Take an instance in my community. The food safety regulation in my city requires all restaurants to abandon the surplus foods that are not sold out periodically, and it is going to be a considerable waste because a tremendous amount of food is still safe to eat even if they already passed the expiration date. However, almost all the restaurants in my community set up a “free pick-up day” when the foods are nearly expired. Although the free pick-up is inclusive to all residents, we still leave chances to those who are struggling to pay their bills.

In conclusion, I think that people who live nowadays are more motivated to offer strangers help. This is because a developed society usually developed a full-fledged welfare system of redistribution and abundant surplus in materials grown people’s generosity to aid people who are not as privileged as we do.