TPO 63- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays, people are more willing to help people they don’t know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

It goes without saying that in the current progressive and sophisticated world where we live, the importance of helping each other is crystal clear. In this regard, while some people assert that nowadays people help strangers more than before, others believe otherwise and think that in the past people were more willing to help each other. In my view, I strongly support the first group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, thanks to the enhancement of technologies, individuals are more aware of the distances between social classes in their society. To be more specific, the wide access to social media and updated news enables current generations to know about the poor people’s problems around themselves and try to help them solve their lives issues. My mother’s experience is a compelling example of this. She works in a charitable organization that provides financial and practical helps for homeless people. Their charity has an Instagram account and posts many videos and stories about the city’s poor people and encourages individuals to help them financially or in whatever they can. My mother says that it is a more effective way compared to the traditional methods which they used before and nowadays their charity can support more number of impoverished families. Had the charity not used novel technology to engage people in helping strangers, they could not have supported such numerous low-income families.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that the general financial status of the modern generation has improved and ables them to help other low-income families. To give a more detailed view, nowadays, even ordinary citizens can dedicate absolute materials such as clothes and food supplies to their fellow human beings to improve others’ life quality. For instance, my father used to work as a farm laborer when he was just eight years old because his father’s income as a teacher was not sufficient for their family. Although my father is a math teacher like my grandfather now, we have a better life than they had before.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that current generations are more likely to help strange low-income families. This is because not only do they have more knowledge about their society, but also people have higher incomes than last generations.