TPO43

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

•Say nothing.

Appropriate behavior in confronting false matters plays a prominent role in people’s life. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the best ways of encountering the incorrect issues especially in academic environments have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is when students encounter with something incorrect that is said by their teacher or leader whether it is better for students that say nothing or interrupt the discussion and correct the mistake or wait until the end of the class and correct it. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that students have to wait patiently until the end of class and after that correct the mistake. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that it is important for students that respects their teacher and do not interrupt their talking until he/she finishes the talking. It goes without saying that teachers and leaders are usually professional and elder people rather than the audiences and students; therefore, it is really crucial for students to respect them. If students interrupt their talking and correct their mistake, it causes decreasing their reputation and bad effects on other people's mind. As I remember, last year, I was in a conference. The lecturer came from a high-ranked university in the world. When he talked, he unintentionally made a mistake. One of the audience stood up and mention that mistake. Although the lecturer was really famous and renowned professor, many people left the conference. That behavior had really bad effect on the other people's mind.

Another reason deserving some words here is that interrupting the class or lecture and point out the mistake cause students and professor cannot concentrate on the rest of the lecture. People need to focus on the material when someone teaches to them. Interrupting the class or meeting has negative effects on the both speakers and audiences. For example, in my English class, my professor did not allow students to ask their questions during the lecture. He pointed out that asking question causes decreasing the efficiency of the class since other students do not concentrate on the material. He divided the time of the class into two sections. One for teaching the new material, and the other for clarifying the vague points and answering students' questions.

Finally, yet importantly, it is important for students that mention the mistake after the presentation since it may mislead people and make many problems. Without any shadows of doubt, there are many people that rely on the leader or teacher's talking. They may do something wrong having irrecoverable consequences. Thus, saying the mistake prevents many disasters. Perhaps a more specific experience can shed more light on the matter. As my cousin named Sam said, he had a chemistry teacher which made a mistake, about mixing chemical components for observing special phenomena, when he was at high school. After the class, Sam had talked to his teacher and mentioned his mistake. In the next class, teacher corrected the mistake and explained, if students did this experiment, a huge fire would occur in the lab. In conclusion, had Sam not say about the mistake, it would have caused serious problem for the students, teacher and school.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that when teachers or leaders make a mistake, it is better for students to wait until end of the class and mention it since not only do they respect their teacher or leader, but also they prevent further disasters and do not disturb other's concentration.