TPO EXTRA2

A person should never make an important decision alone.

Decision making is a significant process in everyday life and it is important for people to make the right decision in critical situations. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the best ways of making decision have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether a person should never make a decision alone or not. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that people should not make their decision by themselves. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that one individual cannot see all the negative and positive points of a decision by himself and it may lead to wrong decision for him. It goes without saying that a person cannot evaluate all the sides of a decision by himself since every person is expert in one special area and do not have much experience and information about other aspects. Consider a doctor encountering with a financial problem. Although he is really expert and professional in his major, but maybe he cannot evaluate a financial problem by himself; therefore, it is crucial for him to advice with someone else who can guide him in the right way.

Another reason deserving some words here is that making decision by consulting with other people save people's time and energy. Without any shadows of doubt, people are experienced many situations during their life and they get many valuable information. The more time ones live, the more experience she/he will attain. Thus, consulting with other people who have similar experience in that matter can save our time and energy. As I remember, when I wanted to choose a university for starting my bachelor period, I consult with one of the staffs of a university who I knew he had similar experience when he was at my age. He researched so much until he choose one particular university for studying. I consulted with him and he provided many invaluable information about various universities. I could gained a lot of information in a few hours. Had I wanted to seek the information by myself, I would loss my time and energy.

Finally, yet importantly, everyone has a unique viewpoint to the problems; therefore, consulting with people help to see the problem from different sides and make the best decision in an efficient way. Perhaps a more specific experience can shed more light on the matter. My cousin is an environmental engineer student at University of British Columbia. When the professors give students assignments, they make some groups and think on the problem with each other. As he said, in their last assignment for a math class, the professor gave them a really difficult problem. Nobody could solve it alone. Thus, they gathered, when one of them gave an idea, they could think thoroughly and gave better ideas. This process helped them to solve the assignment in less than one hours.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that people should never make an important decision by themselves since not only can they save their time and energy because of similar experiences and different viewpoints, but also consulting with others leads to better decisions.