TPO53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Without a shadow of a doubt, government investment plays a pivotal role in economic development. A glance at people's attitude towards government investment choice brings to a light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether to spend money to improve Internet access or invest in transportation construction. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the latter point of view to the former one and I will elaborate on what rationale my perspective is based on in the following paragraphs.

The first reason worth mentioning is that investments in public transportation contribute to developing the local economy. The example of Chinese Railway Highspeed can vividly illustrate this phenomenon. In recent decades, the Chinese government determined to start a revolution in the railway system, not only to design multiple types of high-speed trains but also to construct the high-speed railway system across the territory. More than one hundred trillion Yuan was invested in the last 15 years and the railway network which contains thousand of cities has been completed, which allows people to travel from the brink of the land to the inner part of the country within 10 hours. Zhengzhou, a center of the Chinese high-speed railway network, benefits both from freight revenue and tourism revenue, has become one of the most potential cities in China.

Moreover, another significant reason to improve public transportation is it can improve the life quality of people. To illustrate more, the construction of public transportation is composed of road construction and the investment in transportation vehicles. Orchestrated road systems can save the time people spend on the road, at the same time, more transportation choices provide citizens with distinctive cheaper ways to go to their destinations. Besides, the progress of applying new clean energy public vehicles gradually reduces the pollution caused by the emissions of vehicle gas which will influence either the weather quality or the public health. Had it not been for investing in public transportation, these achievements could never be accomplished.

A voice arises that spending money to improve Internet access can effectively improve the work efficiency for its higher transfer speed, while this claim needs to be scrutinized meticulously. Admittedly, advanced Internet access enables people to accomplish more complicated work, however, other factors that will affect the work may be ignored. If people are stuck on the highway for several hours, they cannot dedicate themselves to working regardless of how quick their Internet access is. And the dissatisfaction can further exert a negative influence on their mental health.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly hold the opinion that the investment in public transportation is more necessary. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I firmly believe they will yield after being shown to my article.