In twenty year, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

It is critically important to control the number of vehicles on the road. The environmental loss that our planet is going through is an urgent concern. Proponents of this argument maintain that the accidents caused by overcrowding of roads make it difficult for adding more cars and trucks on highways. Personally, I believe that it does not matter how many reasons are there in support of reducing the number of cars, it won't lessen. Instead, they would keep on growing to serve the increasing population. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the population would reach a whopping 10 billion by the year 2040. Sustaining such a gigantic figure would require an increase in the number of cars on the road. The government might charge the car owners a hefty tax to drive on the road. Nonetheless, the living standards of families across the world has seen a huge jump as more people getting above the poverty lines. Affordability of such taxes would be available to more people than what numbers are today. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of how the cars would keep on increasing. In my society and among my friends, most of the people were not having cars a decade ago. But now, almost all of them own a car and a few have more than one car. These are the people whose living standard improved in the last few years and buying car had been their priority. It happened because car is a symbol of living standard. It signifies an individual's purchasing power and can be a means to flaunt and boast in front of the social group one have.

Furthermore, the problem of pollution and environmental damage can be controlled with the help using clean energy as an alternate. With the advancement in science and technology, the efficiency of extracting green energy is reaching its full potential. Solar and wind energy can be used to generate electricity and then it can later be utilized by electric cars. Electric cars do not spread pollution as they don't burn any petroleum and hence cannot be blamed for spreading pollution. For instance, Tesla is a company that is producing futuristic cars which run on electricity. Earlier electric cars very small in size and having a shape which would seem to be awkward to drive such a car in public. Since the car is a status symbol, people used to avoid buying these cars. Tesla was able to transform the notion of electric cars by designing luxurious cars. In last one year, Tesla sold half a million cars.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the number of cars would increase in next two decades. This is because the standard of living of people will improve with time and more renewable resources would be used in functioning of cars.