In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

I strongly disagree with the opinion "In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today" because need for cars and preference for different cars are increasing every single day. In early days of usage of car was majorly considered as status signature but later on with growth of time people realized its importance. It has gain importance within every people belonged to all regions irrespective of their caste,color,creed,nationality. Its has been valued for its convenience in reaching everyone's destination mostly on time if used properly.

I do agree that by developing times mode of communication has been increased like public transport including buses,metros,monorail etc. But in country like United States cars are still most preferred over any other mode of transport. Hence it will grow in a similar way to the growing population.More the babies born in country more the requirement for cars will increase once they will grow to required age of driving.

Nowadays life is so fast that no one can think of losing a single minute of their time. Everyday starts with rushing to office, drop of the kids to school or day care and so on. Hardly a few can think of waiting for bus for scheduled bus routes which is not frequent. Car is the best way to reach to destination without wasting people's time.

Few people do have craze to owe unique cars as holding ownership of unique cars do attracts others.These kind of people want car as their luxury and status.

I believe that by passing of time need and demand for cars will increase. As a result more cars will be manufactured and more will be sold.

On a concluding note i will say cars are important for present days and will be most important even future .