In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Automobiles like cars play a significant role in development of human society as well as in our day-to-day life. There has been no shortage of debate whether number of cars will decrease in twenty year. This can depend on a variety of factors; for example, living condition of people, cost of fuel, availability of other transportation in twenty years. Generally speaking, I believe that its better for all concerned to say that in twenty years, there will be more cars in use compared to that of today. I feel this way for several reasons which I explore in following essay.

First of all its important to consider that price of car is decreasing. Certainly, it could be possible that still some people cannot afford costly cars. However, in most countries like Dubai, India etc, few cars now a days are available at much cheaper prices and it is actually affordable by most of the people. To illustrate, even though I do not belong to an aristocratic family, my dad recently bought me a new Nano car manufactured by Tata motors which costs less than two lakh Indian Rupees. Many of my classmates own this car too. This in turn helped me to commute to college from my hostel. Many banks provide loans for cars and it can be paid on monthly basis. This makes the purchase easier.

Hence, in addition to availability of cars at cheaper price its important to consider influence of technologies like Uber and Ola in increase of cars. Of course, Uber and Ola facilities are not present at all the parts of world. However, thier customer base is growing. People now a days prefer to hire private cab for grocery shopping, commuting to office and going for trips. This is because they do not have to worry about spending money to buy car, finding parking lot, maintaining costs of cars and its very easy to book cab and get ride. This trend is increasing and Uber and Ola services are also expanding. In twenty years, there could be many more companies like Uber and as a result, there will be many more cars.

Finally, even though fuel price and maintenance costs of cars are increasing, this does not necessarily mean people will go for alternate transport. I will be the first person to admit that in twenty years there will be scarcity of petrol and diesel and atmospheric pollution will be very high compared to that of today. However, Despite these possibilities, people might continues using car. In fact, I think lack of non renewable energy source motivate the people to make use of renewable energy sources like electricity and solar energy in running cars. In addition to this, living conditions of people are increasing and they are more concerned towards living a comfortable lifestyle rather than addressing environmental problems. So, I don't think it is necessarily fair to claim that people will go for alternate transportation to address the problem of shortage of non renewable energy sources.

In summary, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that people will definitely continue using cars and number of cars will increase due to advancement of automobile industry and technology.