At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of giving financial support to games and social activities in association with classes and libraries. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely support the idea of giving financial aid to sports and other activities. It is my firm belief that practicing socialism and different sports will improve our mental and physical conditions for a number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, participating in various kinds of sports will cast positive impacts in the students’ life. Also recreation is necessary from the daily class schedules and library works. Sports and games serve as both physical and mental exercise. Outdoor games such as football, basketball, badminton are considered beneficial form of exercises. Indoor games like chess, monopoly, cards increase intellectual skills. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. I remember when I was in my school period, I always tried to participate in badminton and chess games. These specific playing tools made me feel strong, healthy and also enhance my thinking capabilities to solve puzzles. I got extreme pleasure by performing these tasks. As a result, a little break from the regular study plan helps me to gather more concentration in the classes. For this reason, I never felt bored in my lecture time and study period as I was completely boosted up physically and mentally.

Secondly, social activities make us gregarious and amiable by improving our characteristics. Arranging different types of social activities like cultural programs, religious festivals, reception programs for the new students etc. will surely increase communication skill. Furthermore, participating in these of events people will get a chance to practice socialism by helping others and showing respect to each other. On the other hand, students also got a platform to get familiar with different cultures. Drawing from my own experience, in my university life I used to attend the cultural programs organized by the cultural committee. Those events helped me a lot to gain knowledge about different traditions which were showed by the representative of various nations. Moreover, I was able to make more friends through the program. It’s certainly clear to see why social activities need support with classes to develop social interaction and other valuable skills.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that sports and social activities should be given equal importance as given to the classes. This is because to make the universities and colleges more sophistically oriented in terms of its education and other activities.