The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the two interviews taken in a time difference of twenty years is similar, rendering to the main conclusion, that the conclusion of Dr. Field is not accurate, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification regarding the issue of the time. It is assumed that what held true in twenty years ago will hold true in recent time. The argument fails to provide the cultural or economic condition in recent times in the island. Twenty years ago, the parents might be workaholic and didn’t provide sufficient time for their children. Therefore, they were reared by the other village people. However, situation will not be similar nowadays. Maybe the children now spend most of their time with parents.

Had the argument provided any justification about the population density of that island and then it has to further attribute necessary information regarding the family number carrying children and the age of the children.

The argument has also many unanswered assumptions. The child bearing tradition can be changed within twenty years or the children will more likely to spend times in playing with other children rather than with the rearing person. After twenty years, maybe the mothers of the family spend more time in rearing their children. The economic condition of the island now maybe well enough to serve the family with the single income source. Therefore, a child gets more time to enjoy with their biological parents.

Based on the unwarranted assumptions that the situation of the island is similar to that of twenty years ago fails to make a convincing case that the observation of Dr. Field is invalid.