University has 2 programs for students in break time between 2 semesters. Which one do you prefer?

1-taking some courses or classes which have no connection with your major,

2-take work project (working in city, or in school to teach children to overcome/ do their homework)

The break time between two semesters are usually about a week long, and a week is not long enough to go to an internship or even go to a trip. However, there are certain programs, such as these two mentioned in the question that students can participate in, which are both fun and useful. In this way they don’t get to waste their time, besides, parents are satisfied as well. At the end of the break by requiring a report from the students they will have to take these programs seriously, so they will benefit from it directly. Some students like to widen their areas of knowledge. Others believe starting to build their career as soon as possible will improve their chance of getting successful. There are advantages and disadvantages for both programs which I will discuss below.

On the one hand, taking a work project related to one’s major in university could have its benefits. One of the benefits is that they can use the courses they have learned in their classes and implement them in the real world. They get to examine which parts of the theories they have learned are practical and which parts can only be applied in the papers. Therefore, they will learn their courses more thoroughly and deeply. In addition, they will have the chance to build connections in the real world work environment. Having a broader network could be helpful when they want to start their first job, or even when they want to start their own business. Besides, if they choose to teach some of the subjects they have learned in schools, they will learn them better themselves. Plus, not all of the students want to work in the city, many of them might want to become teachers and professors someday. In this way, they will have more experience and will find out whether or not they are caught out to become teachers.

On the other hand, some students prefer to give a break to their brain. The human brain, in order to function properly, needs to have breaks. If it focuses on one specific thing for long time, level of concentration will decrease. Participating in fun and enjoyable classes which are not related to our main study, could give a new perspective to us. After this break, we might come up with more creative ideas, and our critical thinking and problem solving skills will improve. Furthermore, these unrelated material might be connected to our field of study. For instance, when Steve Jobs was in college, he took a course in art. Back then, he never thought it will get handy someday, but when his company wanted to design the new Iphone, that course gave him vision and insight for deciding which design to pick. As a result, the design of these smart phones are as sophisticated as it could get. Moreover, we might find new interests or talents we never thought we might have. Trying new things and taking risks will open up new opportunities for us, and by having a wider area of expertise, we might be better candidates for opening job opportunities in the current competitive job market.

To summarize, both programs have drawbacks and benefits. It depends on the characteristics of each individual which one to choose. Personally, I prefer to take unrelated courses, to widen my knowledge and give a break to my brain. These courses might be entertaining, that could release my stress, which every student needs after a semester of hard work. Also, they are great investment for my future, whether I realize it now or not.