A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (ages14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually

Training classes for teachers usually aims to improve their teaching methods and abilities. Due to the restricted budget of governments and limited time of teachers, finding an effective way of holding these training classes is really important. In this regard, some experts believe that attending online classes is much more effective, while others believe choosing a small group of excellent teachers and training them and want them to pass their information to other teachers in their school is more beneficial. If I were a educational expert, I would held classes for some excellent teachers and would asked them to pass their new knowledge to their colleagues for several reasons.

First of all, although online classes can save a lot of time for teachers, many teachers reported that these classes are not as effective as physical classes. They say that when they attend a class, they can ask their questions and the tutor of the class will clarify the ambiguities. Moreover they can discuss what they have learned with other teachers and use others ideas. Recently, a research was done among high school teachers in my country about attending online classes. Around 80 percents of them contended that they prefer to attend a class.

Secondly, many experienced teachers are old and do not progress with the technology. Thus, they may not know how to utilize these online materials and how can these materials help them. So they may spend a lot of time on these materials and because they don’t know how to use them, this group of teachers will defer to use the online materials. On the other hand, if a tutor is available, this group of teachers will learn the advancements and will defenitely exploit the new methods in their classes.

Last but not least, teaching what you have learned to others helps you to understand it better. When the selected group of teachers who attend the class, convey the information they get in those classes to their colleagues, they can use these methods much more better. So this method not only helps their co workers, but also helps the selected teachers.

In conclusion, I think asking excellent teachers to attend classes and teach the new methods to their colleagues will improve the education system better. However, in my opinion, if governments put more budget on these kind of programs, all the teachers can attend these classes which would be much more beneficial to the education system.