Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between

semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month

during the break.

a. Students must take a course which has no direct connection to their major (for example,

students majoring in engineering take a course in fine arts or social sciences)

b. Students must volunteer to work on a project in their university’s city or hometown to

improve some aspect of life in the city or hometown. For example, a student can work with

primary school children who need help with their homework.

Which one do you prefer? Present reasons and examples to support your answer.

In a student life, every moment is precious. Whenever there is a long break between two semesters, students wonder how to use this break efficiently. Personally, I prefer to volunteer to work on a project and gain experience rather than taking courses which are not relevant to my major. I feel this way for two reasons which I explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, work experience is very important for students in their future life. During a semester, students are often busy studying and doing their homework. So it is very hard for them to work and pass their courses successfully. However, when you fill in an application for a job, there is always a question about your job experiences. In addition, companies prefer to choose an experienced person for a job position. Therefore, I believe students should use any chance to gain work experience.

Moreover, in a project which aims to improve the aspects of your city, you can understand how to utilize whatever you have learned in your classes at the university in your real life. To be more specific, students usually just pass the courses without the knowledge of how the things they have learned can practically be used. Also, when you understand that things you have learned are practical, you are motivated to pursuit your studies more carefully. For example, when I was at the third grade undergraduate student, my university planned an internship for us in the summer. During that internship, I learned that how the courses which I passed are related to this practical project. Thus, the next semester I studied harder and with a broader insight of my major.

In conclusion, as a university student, I think a long break between two semesters can be efficiently used by doing projects which leads to make an aspect of acity life better. This is because of the value of gaining work experience as an student in finding a good job in future and motivation to study harder and more careful.