University students are often encouraged to study fields in which significant job growth is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering and math, do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

With the developing of the modern society, more and more folks are paying their attention to the education topics. Recently, which kind of jobs does bachelors should looking for, with drastic increasing number of empty position or a truly loved position. This topic is hotly debated, from my own perspective, I believe university students should choose the jobs that they truly love.

To begin with, people will only feel endless pain to work if they does not find their own interest in it. Let’s take an example from my own experience, I took an internship when I was in senior in my university period. I was worked for a design company that I drew blue print for buildings, and change them thousands times in order to satisfy the supervisor. For me, it was a really hard time to survive, and I felt exhausted every day at that time. For the internship period, I made a determination that I will and have to have a master degree in order to avoid the boring job position like it, because I can imagine what I will do after 20 years. Chances are that I will sit in a crowd position in office and draw the blue print as what I am doing now. For me, I cannot put up with this unchanging job as my career. I don’t enable feel any sense of achievement but infinite pain from this internship. Thus for this kind altitude, I cannot and do not want to work as the best I can.

In addition, People are more efficient at work when they show deep interests in their daily works. This point is easily illustrated that people will put their own passion and full energy into a project or difficult when they show strong interest in it. For this kind of scene, we do not need external factors to force us to solve the problem, we will be willing to solve by internal motivation. It is obviously that we are going to be more efficient when we have our own passion or motivation to do the work. What’s more, it is not hard to imagine that one will try every possible methods to get a reasonable solution for the existing dilemma. Therefore, people are motivated and efficient when they have internal reason to do it. That is another aspect that I support university students to choose a job they like not a specific field with job growth.

Admittedly, all of us have to agree that we have to make some comprise, even if we don’t like the existing policy in university. For example we have to get some credit in politic in order to get our bachelor’s degree. However, it does not mean we have to put one hundred percent of our energy to learn the textbook and related material, we don’t even go that far, we just try to get a good score and get the corresponding credit. It will be enough for these student are not interested in politics. And for them, they indeed spend extra time in their own interest and make some progress to illustrate everyone that around them, which I am excellent enough to get a job in the field l truly love.

To warp up, I believe that university students should learn the subjects they have own passion to learn and follow their own thoughts in their bottom of heart.