University students should be required to take history courses no matter what field they study.

After students enter the university, their choices for classes have been varied when compared to the high school time that they are now able to attend lessons from more disciplines. And whether the university should set the history lessons as required has leaded to a heated discussion. Personally, I agree with the idea that all students in the university ought to take history classes for the following reasons.

Firstly, the mandatory history lessons enables students gain more understanding of the culture of home country, which should be the common sense for most adults. When students know more about the history from their country and even from the world, they show respect to the culture and get a wider range of knowledge. Most students, however, specialize in their own field but know little about the history or other disciplines. I used to have a friend majoring in science and can be regarded as an expert in his own academic field. Once in the conversation, I found that he have little knowledge about the history in our country, remembering the timeline of several significant revolution wrongly or even did not know about them. A student, or an adult, should have at least basic understanding of the various academic fields and the well-rounded knowledge definitely helps them to gain more insight towards the world.

On the other hand, requiring college students to take history classes helps them transfer smoothly from school to the society and contributes to solving the social issues after their graduation. There is an old saying that the history from the past can act as the mirror to reflects what is happening now in this world. And people always manage to find similarity of the characteristics between different events from the past and now and find the answer from history. The previous experience gained from past events, even from hundreds of years ago, is still useful and helps to solve the problems even now. It is often the case that the students critical thinking can be developed through the intensive discussions in history lessons and thus improving the ability to tackle with the practical issues. Moreover, the university should act as a bridge between teenagers and adults, directing the young to form certain world values. After they graduate and begin working, the young people start leading the society and the ability to deal with various issues, no matter personal issues from the daily life.