Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Different individuals have different characteristics. It is hard to make a simple and absolute conclusion for every individual just according to some phenomena, especially for human beings. Thus, in my opinion, the statement that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives is not fair and objective.

First of all, everyone has his own situations and properties. I admit that some teens are good at making decisions, but others are not. This is because there are so many factors to determine characteristics of a person, such as education resources in his community and economic power of his family. Moreover, even if they are twins in a family, they could be different in their views of this world. Therefore, it is possible for every young adult to have a good ability to make decisions for his own life.

In addition, some parents still have a major influence on children's decisions. Education is a very good example. With the increasing importance of education in such times, parents pay more attention to cultivating their children. Some parents with high-thinking and open minds tend to believe in their children and give them enough freedom. However, some parents behave oppositely. They always want to plan a bright future for their child. Walking on a seemingly easy road, how could they become good decision-makers? Not. For instance, those students involved in the biggest America's college admissions scandal in 2019 may be not able to make decisions about their universities, let alone make decisions for their own lives.

Besides their parents, there are many other factors to affect young people's decisions. Especially in this time with a highly sophisticated technology, information travels at a surprisingly high speed, whether it is true or not. People are easily influenced by the information from surrounding people or on websites. What's more, according to psychologists, young people are more prone to follow it and make decisions based on it, because they have not wholly developed their ideals and values. This can partly explain advertising’s efficiency and success on the youths. Their unwise and excessive consuming is a kind of reflection of their decision-making disabilities.

I believe that some young people are better decision makers, but they cannot represent all their peers. After all, they have different personalities, and their parents and the information they get would influence their decisions.