What is the best way to assess students through tests, projects, or class participation? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is necessary for everyone to live a better life. School plays an essential role in providing education to people. The main concern is how to evaluate a person’s knowledge which he/she gained from school education. Various ways can be used to evaluate knowledge such as tests, projects, and class participation. I believe that tests are the best tool to evaluate students’ knowledge for certain reasons: motivate students, keeps engaged, and self-assessment tool.

First, tests are a self-assessment tool for students. Students will get an idea about: what they did wrong, what they need to focus on, and how to improve. Moreover, it also helps them to overcome their fear of exam. For example, I completed my physical therapy school form India. I used to perform poorly in my theory exam, but I used to perform well in my practical exam. It means that I used to get my self-evaluation that I understood my topic thoroughly but somehow, I am not able to represent it well in my theory paper. I took advice from my class coordinator professor. He told me that he will give one test a week and that test score will not count in my grades, so I can take that test just to explain how much I understood about that topic. He also told me that eventually, my fear of low grades will go away with this practice and the same thing happened. After three months I had an internal exam I performed well in practical and theory both exam. It illustrates that tests helped me to understand my weaknesses and how to overcome that.

Second, tests keep learners engaged and focus on their goal. Tests and quizzes have always been a motivator to study harder when students know that their progress will be judged upon an exam. It sets a deadline for students to reach their desired goal. For example, my friend, Payal and I were classmates during my physical therapy school. She is a slow learner and gets distracted very easily during studies, but she was afraid of low grades in tests. That kept her focus on education. Further our anatomy professor use to take surprise tests because of that she used to attend classes regularly and engage more in classes. Thus, I definitely can say that if professors do not take tests then most the students do not pay attention in their classes.

In conclusion, to make society a better place, everyone should acquire education. I strongly believe that tests are a perfect tool to evaluate a person’s knowledge. It motivates students, it keeps them engage in learning, and it bets tool for self-assessment.