What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

The past century has witnessed an unprecedented growth and discoveries which has been a boon to the civilization. Weather the field of science, technology, archaeology and so on; you name it and we have it. Among those, I believe, medical advancement has been one of the most beneficial progresses for the people in my country. I feel this way for the following reason.

First of all, because of the discoveries in medical field, today, it is possible to diagnose the disease early and prevent it. In the past, inability of diagnosis and intervene at the right time was one of the major cause of mortality and morbidity among the people. For instance, my grandmother had a congenital cardiac disease, which was diagnosed when she was 10. Due to delayed diagnosis and unawareness of the condition, she was always sick and passed away at an early age of 17. On the other hand, when one of my cousins was suffering from the similar heart disease with hole in her heart, she was diagnosed in-vitro, and intervened just after the birth on the same day. Today she is 25, living a healthy life. This demonstrates how medical field advancement has reduced mortality rate than the past.

Moreover, development in surgical interventions has taken human’s experience of his health to the next level. Earlier, limited facilities for the cure of illness had kept people under the dark shadow of pain and disabilities for rest of their lives. For example, my neighbour’s uncle had developed pulmonary fibrosis in both the lungs, caused due to inhalation of fragments of his pet bird’s feathers. There was no cure for such conditions back then. Consequently, he couldn’t work, walk and even perform his daily activities due to limitation caused by breathlessness. In addition, he suffered from recurrent lung infections until he died. Conversely, when my uncle was suffering from a similar condition of pulmonary fibrosis, in his time, there was an advanced surgical management for such condition to improve the quality of life of patients. Thus, he was surgically operated for bilateral lung transplant. He had good prognosis and returned to his job with his portable oxygen port. My uncle would not have experienced such an improvement in his health without the discovery of such advanced medical services.

In conclusion, medical discoveries have proved to be helpful for people in my country. This is because it had developed early diagnosis and prevention of the fatal diseases otherwise and because the advances in the surgical intervention has upsurge the quality of life of the citizens.