What do you want most in a friend — someone who is intelligent, or someone who has a sense of humor, or someone who is reliable? Which one of these characteristics is most important to you? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

In life, we have plenty of type friends, for example, some of them are permanent whereas others are life-long friends. If I really had to choose from these options, I would definitely prefer a trustworthy friend. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, having a loyal friend is very beneficial because it gives you a sense of security. To be more specific, if you tell her your secret, you do not need to worry about others will know because she will not tell anybody about it. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. Since I was six years old, I have had only one friend, Hulan, who is always with me whatever I have encountered. She has been always the most reliable one over a long period. When I knew that I was pregnant, I told this news only my friend, not my family. This is mainly due to the fact that I was afraid of judgements and critics toward me and my baby. However, when she heard about it, she completely understood me and gave me the time to tell my family about it by myself. Today she is my boy’s godmother and still my best friend.

On top of this, sometimes we confront some problems that we have not people who can trust. Even though having a genius and funny friend makes you happy sometimes, but as long as they cannot trustworthy, they will not become your life-long friend. Drawing from my own experience, seven years ago, I was a student at a college. I had plenty of friends who could make me laugh and make me admire them. However, they did not become my life-long friends because I could not count on them completely. My college friend, Saina, who was the most genius one in my faculty and I really respect her on account of her wisdom. However, she could not accept me as her friend because I was not smart enough to interact and align with her. Since that time, I truly understand that loyalty is a far better quality of friend because it demonstrates that they can rely on you and they accept you as an important person of their lives.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that honesty is an essential feature of best friends. This is because it gives you sensation of protection and this is because it helps you to identify who is your life-long friend.