When leading a group, most people talk while others listen. But best leaders always spend more time listening to others’ ideas than talking their ideas. Agree or Disagree?

Every person has a different definition of leading a group. Some people prefer to talk while others listening, while other people like to spend more time listening to others' ideas. In my opinion, I prefer the latter, leaders should spend more time listening others' opinions.

To begin with, the discussions can be more successful if leaders listen to their members' ideas. Every single person always has a different point of view in the same things, by listening to them can we view things in a different angle and lead to a better result. For example, when I was in high school, I often need to do many groups projects, and I am the leader for most of the time. One time, we are working on a project about volcanos. We first spend about 15 minutes to think about what should we do on the project, then we will discuss it as a group. During the discussion, I find out that many members in the group often have some creative ideas. For instance, one person said that we should make some models to explain different kinds of volcanos. Another said that we should create some interesting presentation with some video showing the audience about the eruption of volcanos. Actually, I never thought of these ideas before, if I did not give them the chance to present their opinions, our presentation would be boring because it did not have those creative ideas. As a result, listening to others' ideas to be beneficial to the projects or discussions, so leaders should really give some opportunities for others to speak.

In addition, leaders can have a deeper understanding about their members if leaders listen to them. To be more specific, some people may be facing some difficulties and want to discuss with the leader. If the leader never give them the chance to speak, the leader will never understand them. Take my dad as an example, he is the leader in his company, so he often hold many meeting with his employee. During the meeting, he will ask everyone to speak, such as what difficulties are they facing in their works recently, or even their health issues. After talking to them, my dad actually find out that because the long working hours, some employees are having health problems since they do not have enough time to sleep. As a result, he soon change the working hours and solve the problem. If he did not give them the opportunity to speak, he will never know that they are having some health issues. Therefore, I think having a deep understanding of their group members is extremely important for the leaders, so leaders should definitely give them the chance to speak.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that the best way for a leader to lead the group is to talk while others listen, because if everyone give their opinion, it can cause some disorientation. However, I think that if the leader never give others a chance to speak, then what is the use for other members in the group? As a result, by spending more time listening to others' ideas can lead to a better result in the group.