What is the most important ability for high school teachers who teach young students ( ages 15-18)?

1.The ability to give advice to students about future planing.

2.The ability to recognise students who need the most help and provide help.

3.The ability to encourage students to learn by themselves outsides the classroom.

As students begin to start their high school years, teachers play an important role in student's life. They need to teach them some crucial abilities that can be beneficial for students. Some people may say that it is better to teach the ability to give advice to students about future planning or to recognise students who need more help and provide help, while others assert that it is better to encourage students to learn by themselves outsides the classroom. In my opinion, I prefer the latter.

First of all, when teachers encourage their students to learn by themselves outside the class, students can have more opportunities to learn something school cannot teach them. In modern school life, students are always focus on rather studying or exams. They seldom have time to actually talk with other and improve social skills. Therefore, if students can learn something by themselves, they can attain some activity outside the class. For example, volunteering is a very good choice. When students join some volunteer work, they can have the time to discuss with others about their plans. During the discussion, student need to learn how to clearly describe his or her point and help other people to understand it. By doing this, students can really improve their social skills and this is a skill that students cannot learn in school. In other words, teachers should really encourage their students to learn by themselves outside the class, so students can learned some more far ranging skills. By contrast, if teachers never encourage their students to learn outside the class. Even though students may have an extremely good grade in school, but they will not be successful in their future career, because they do not know how to communicate with rather their managers or customers. Thus, high school teachers should really encourage their students to learn by themselves and to learn outside the class in order to maximise their potential for their future.

In addition, if teachers encourage their students to learn by themselves outside the class, students will have more chances to search for their own interest. As we know, students are always busy, because they have many works they need to finish. Therefore, it is extremely important for them to learn a interest for relax. Nowadays, since the technology are very convenient, if the teachers encourage their students to learn by themselves, students can search and learn their interest on the internet right away. Take myself as an example, a few years ago, since I am interest in learn guitar, one of my music teacher told me that I should start searching some free guitar teaching lessons on the internet and learn it by myself. So, I follow my teacher’s advice and now I can play mostly every song with the guitar. If my teacher did not encourage me to learn by myself, I can be too busy to try it. As a result, by encourage their students to learn by themselves outside the class can students be more prepare to learn a interest in their busy life.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that it is better to teach the ability to give advice to students about future planning or to recognise students who need more help and provide help. However, most parents of high school students are helping them to prepare for their future plan, so they do not need the teachers help. As the ability to help others, students can always ask their family or friends to solve the problem together. Thus, if someone ask me, what is the most important ability for high school teacher to teach their students? My answer will definitely be the ability to encourage students to learn by themselves outside the classroom.