When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person. Which way do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the advent of business corporations, both businessmen and people are engaged in the struggle to choose the way that people can effectively convey feedbacks or their complaints about the product or service to the companies. People’s feedbacks can help companies improve the quality of their product or service. With this in mind, identifying the most effective way of receiving feedbacks is pivotal both for companies and people who want to receive a better quality. A controversy among people exists here as to whether it is better to write to company or to complain in person. Different people may give various responses to this question based on their social and cultural backgrounds as well as personal characteristics. However, when it comes to me, I conspicuously declare that complaining in person to a company can be more effective. Among most predominant reasons in support of this contention, better understanding of the intentions, ensuring the receipt of the complaint and quicker respond of the company can be picked for further discussion.

First of all, it is easier to interpret what people say than to understand about what a letter complains. Due to the fact that people have different impressions of words, word selection can change the interpretation drastically. To put it in other words, in writing, only words can convey information, however, in face-to-face communication various factors including body language can possess information.

Second, in complaining in person you can make sure that the authorities of that company have received your complaint. In organizations, there are many letters and other paper documents and it is probable that an employee make mistake in dealing with such amount of letters and paper. For example, one time that I write a letter containing my complaints to a computer repair shop that has broken my hard drive when repairing it. After a month, when I ask a company why my complaint have not received any respond, they said that they had not received my letter.

Last but not least, face-to face communication has the advantage of receiving quick respond. In writing, it takes some time to receive the letter, understand the problem, and take the necessary actions. However, in personal complaint, you wait to receive your response. Although it might take you an hour or more, you can receive a response in this way.

Drawing upon the reasons, while some sophisticated people may assert that writing is a more effective way of complaining to a company, due to better understanding, ensuring the delivery of the complaint and quicker response, I reiterate that face-to-face communication can be more beneficial in this way.