Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the advent of business corporations, advertisement has become widespread in many places in cities. In today’s world, there is almost nowhere is remained empty of advertisements and billboards. Even in the roof of subway trains, there is an advertisement of a product. Some people believe that these abundant advertisements everywhere are just encouraging us to buy products that we do not need. Although, there may be some people that take the opposite stance, saying that they tell us about new products that may improve our lives. However, when it comes to me, I conspicuously declare that I subscribe to the later idea. Among most predominant reasons in support of this contention, being the only way to apprise people of the new products, the small effect of advertisement on people’s decision can be picked for further discussion.

To begin with, advertisement is the only way by which people can get informed about new technologies that has reached the market and new products. Admittedly, with current pace that new technologies appear, it is probable that every year, many new products be introduced to societies in order to facilitate their life. The only way that people can keep pace with this galloping progress, is advertisement. For example, A few years ago, new cars have been produced in china that use electricity instead of fossil fuel. I remember that days, I was not familiar with this technology, but by seeing an advertisement of these cars, I learned a lot about this technology that I am using since then. Undoubtedly, if the advertisement on this product did not exist, I would not ride one of these cars now.

Second, People are not influenced by advertisements to the extent that they get convinced to buy a product that they do not need. People do not pay such attention to advertisements when evaluating their needs. It is widely accepted in the field of economics that the two parameters that affect people’s decision on what they need is their budget and the price of the product. For example, when people see an advertisement which show a luminary using a kind of product, they do not interpret it as their need for that product.

Drawing upon the reasons, while some pessimistic people may assert that advertisements are encouraging people to buy products out of their need, due to above-mentioned reasons, I reiterate that advertisement is an effective and practical way of informing people of new products that will facilitate their life.