whether the government shpoud spend more money to improve internet access or public transportation

From a general standpoint, these days, governments possess a huge investment which is in order to provide a better and more convenient life for citizens. Governments choices surrounds this issue that this money should be spent on which projects, or which projects are prior to others are very important because they relatively determine the quality of life in a country. While some people hold the view that this budget should be spent to improve internet access, I am personally inclined to believe that improvement of public transportation is prior to internet access. In what follows, I will try to aptly pinpoint the most outstanding reasons to advocate my view point.

The first reason leading credence to the argument is that spending more money on public transportation can bring about a great decline in air pollution. To clarify, air pollution is one of the most important environmental issues of the 21st century. As we all are aware, it has concerned the environmental opponents more than ever and so many campaigns have been established in order to save the earth. In this regard, the majority of the fuel that cars consume is fossil fuel. The co2 released as a result of burning fuel such as gasoline is one of the greenhouse gases that preserve the heat in the atmosphere. Moreover, this gas pollutes the air so much and provide a great health risk for people. improving transportation can encourage people to leave their personal vehicles behind and thereupon less co2 is released. Take my city as an example, it has a poor public transportation in holidays and people use their cars in these days more than other days. As a result, everyone can obviously feel that how weather is more polluted in Friday than other days of the week.

Secondly, if governments pay more attention to public transportation they can provide easier life for citizens as they have better access to different parts of the city by a bus for example. In fact, if these vehicles do not cover all parts of the city people would not use them because they are only available in only some parts of their rout and the other part would be left without any vehicle. A personal experience of mine may provide sufficient proof to my claim. As a matter of fact, when I was attending university, I did not have a car, consequently I was imposed to use the public transportation. Because it did not cover all the paths to my university it was hard for me to get access to my university, then even the idea of going to university bothered me so much every day.

In conclusion, bearing the foregoing points and examples in mind, I am of the opinion that the government should allocates a significant part of the budget to improve buses and subways. This is not only because it can have a notable impact on the air pollution, but also it provides more convenience for citizens