Which of the following is the best way to deal with homesickness?

1) do activities or eat food back home

2) keep in touch with family and friends back home

3) do activities and eat food in your new home

4) make new friends

What activities people should do to cope with homesickness has aroused heated debates among different people. While there are pros and cons to different kinds of activities, I maintain that making new friends is the most ideal option to address homesick problems. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, trying to fit in a new environment is a fantastic way to tackle homesickness, and making new friends can help people adapt to the new environment. To be more specific, people are adaptive animals, and making new friends is a great method to get familiar with the new surroundings. For instance, I studied at National Taiwan University in Taipei City when I was 18, but I came from Kaohsiung City. Thus, I befriended students who came from Taipei City and New Taipei City in order to force myself accommodate to the new environment. By doing so, I could absorb myself into Taipei culture faster, and once I considered Taipei as my second home, I did not feel homesick that often. Contrarily, whenever I took a bite at homemade dumplings or participated in a pearl milk tea festival held in Taipei, it always reminded me of tasty food and drink in Kaohsiung, and I often could not stop crying when relishing some nostalgic food or joining activities. Evidently, enjoying food or doing activities, whether it's from my new home or old home, cannot cure my homesickness.

In addition, temporarily forgetting about one's hometown is another tactics to deal with homesickness, and making new friends can definitely help people achieve the goal. Take me again as an example. When I was studying in college, I learned how to temporarily forget about my hometown by making several new foreign friends. To be more specific, I met a Haitian smart student called Terry, who came all the way from Haiti to Taiwan, and Jenny, who came from Peru just to learn Mandarin. In addition, I often invited my college friends to study Calculus or play Grand Thief Auto together to strengthen our mutual relationship. Eventually, when my friends and I were having fun, we often forget about our friends and families in our hometown. On the other hand, if I tried to keep in touch with my old friends, I would undoubtedly feel despondent whenever I muttered to my parents about my daily school life. Or, if I heard my old friends telling me about the newly established video game center, I would also feel nostalgic and wanted to come back to Kaohsiung. So apparently, forgetting about one's hometown can help people feel less homesick.

In conclusion, I believe that befriending new people is the best way to solve homesickness problems due to the aforementioned reasons.