Which of  the  following  summer  arrangements  is  better  for  a  16-17  year  old

student of grade eleven?

1) get ready for some of the major courses they want to study in College

2) led by the teacher to visit museums or historical sites, and then write a paper

With the aspiration of the define of overall education system, increasing attention has been paid on off-campus activities, and a controversy about adequate summer arrangements rises up. Despite some contends that visit museums and historical sites can inspire and cultivate students’ interests, I carry opposed idea that preparing potential major courses might be more appropriate for that students.

Above all, regarding to the coming freshmen, previewing curriculum or taking introductory courses render them to know more about their potential majors and guarantee good performance in their first year. During the process of preparing courses, students are able to comprehend the outlines of each chapter, grasp the basic theoretical concepts and realize the fascination of various subjects. Furthermore, the preview provides students with confidence about their coming campus life and their future. For instance, my sister belongs to that kind of group with good learning habits, she will never have the class if she doesn’t prepare it. Even though her behaviors seem quite extreme, the preview of her potential major course did help her a lot in her first year in university. She passed every exams in university with flying colors without doubt, and eventually graduated with honors. Apparently, her prepare of major courses laid a solid foundation for her excellent academic performance during undergraduate program.

Furthermore, students could eventually find what they really keen on by preparing the major courses, saying that young people might chose their majors without deliberation, in that case the majors they chose directly might be not as interesting as they previously thought after exploring deeper during the university, and finally performing poor in learning, getting low grades in exams. To reduce the possibility to experience that risks, students ought to be preview the major courses they want to learn, reconfirm their genuine interested majors through preparing major courses and do what they really loved in the rest of their lives. As a current online survey on Sina.com manifested, over 58 percent of undergraduates have lost their interests on what they learned and consequently work on what they dislike for they missed the opportunities to have ideal lives, which depend on the majors chose by themselves before entering the university. Certainly, if that people can go back, they will preparing the major courses they are interested in and subsequently redecide what to study as majors.

However, I’m saying that it isn’t worthwhile to visit ancient cites and write something about them, actually this proposal prepare students with the capability of writing papers, doing assignments well in the future. But compared to the preview of major courses that associate with students’ general performances and future directions, preparing the major courses students want to learn seems more preferable.

In a nutshell, there’s every reason to believe that it’s more adequate for the potential freshmen to get ready for the major courses they what to learn with the notions I mentioned above.